Audio Review: Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks

Audio Review: Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya BanksSeduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks
Series: McCabe Trilogy #2
Published by Ballatine Books on 09/27/2011
Genres: Adult, Historical Romance, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Goodreads
four-stars

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Seduction of a Highland Lass, an indomitable Highland warrior is caught between loyalty and forbidden love.

Fiercely loyal to his elder brother, Alaric McCabe leads his clan in the fight for their birthright. Now he is prepared to wed for duty, as well. But on his way to claim the hand of Rionna McDonald, daughter of a neighboring chieftain, he is ambushed and left for dead. Miraculously, his life is saved by the soft touch of a Highland angel, a courageous beauty who will put to the test his fealty to his clan, his honor, and his deepest desires.

An outcast from her own clan, Keeley McDonald was betrayed by those she loved and trusted. When the wounded warrior falls from his horse, she is drawn to his strong, lean body. The wicked glint in his green eyes ignites a passion that will follow them back to Alaric’s keep, where their forbidden love draws them deeper into the pleasures of the flesh. But as conspiracy and danger circle closer, Alaric must make an impossible choice: Will he betray his blood ties for the woman he loves?

I seriously cannot get enough of Maya Bank’s historical romances (despite the unfortunate -in my opinion – covers and titles). And there are only 5 of them! 5! That is not enough, although I think another is coming out next year.

Anyway, Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks was wonderful, although not my favorite of hers (as if anything could ever top Never Seduce a Scot). I was so immersed the love story between Keeley and Alaric, that I could not put this book down.

Seduction of a Highland Lass is the second book in The McCabe Trilogy set in Medieval Scotland. Alaric is the middle McCabe brother, and he’s set to marry Rionna McDonald to form an alliance that will benefit the whole McCabe clan. However, on his way to The McDonald’s holding, he’s attacked and seriously injured. He ends up at Keeley’s cottage, and she nurses him back to health.

Keeley was kicked out of her clan, and it made me really sad to hear the details about that. But Keeley is strong and determined, and has survived on her own for the last few years as a healer. Keeley and Alaric form a strong bond during the time she takes care of him, and it’s wonderful and awful at the same time, because Alaric is promised to another. The chemistry between Keeley and Alaric is a ridiculously strong. And whoa, this book is steamy. Seriously steamy, my friends. But there are so many sweet moments between Keeley and Alaric too.

I was so nervous because I couldn’t see how Keeley and Alaric would be able to be together. Alaric is an honorable man (I just love honorable heroes!) and once he marries Rionna, he’s won’t fool around with anyone else, even if his heart belongs to Keeley. But he also can’t cancel the wedding because the alliance will benefit his whole clan, and he wants to help them. Keeley, who is adopted into the McCabe clan, also wants to do what needs to be done to help her new clan. So, you see, there really weren’t options for them. But it’s a romance, so I was guaranteed a HEA!

Although I didn’t love this one as much as In Bed with a Highlander or Never Seduce a Scot, it’s still such a captivating story. I was completely engrossed in a matter of seconds and I needed to see how this would end. I highly recommend The McCabe Trilogy if you’re a historical romance fan with an especially strong love of medieval settings. I cannot wait to read the last book in this series.

four-stars

16 Responses to “Audio Review: Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks”

  1. Renee (Lover of Romance)

    Every time I see you read another of Bank’s historicals, I want to do a happy dance. They are amazing, although I do love the covers. But you know me, I pretty much love any romance cover. I enjoyed this one too, not as much as the first book, but what I love about these books is how easy it is to get caught up in the story. You definitely make me want to re read this series though. I hope you enjoy the last book of this series….fo fun. I am pretty excited for the 6th book of hers to come out. I have been waiting years for it. But on her site, she explained how there were some legalities from the publisher but I think it might be coming out in January. YIPEE!!!

    • Quinn's Book Nook

      I love these books! Like seriously, LOVE! These are my kind of historical romances. It is so easy to get caught up in the story. I am definitely going to read Rionna’s story soon. I’m a little nervous to read Highlander Most Wanted, though. It seems super sad. I can’t wait for the book in January either!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Renee (Lover of Romance)

        I love how easy it is to get caught up in these right? Can’t put them down. I LOVED Highlander Most Wanted, but it is very emotional at times. But I love it as much as the first book in the series though.

  2. Nick @ Nick & Nereyda's Infinite Booklist

    Seriously, Quinn! You are not helping my wallet when it comes to romance book recommendations. I already knew I needed to read a Maya Banks book, but this review just makes me want to read it even sooner. I love the sound of the romance so much! And I’m all for honorable heroes myself. I can’t wait to meet Alaric.
    Lovely review!

    • Quinn's Book Nook

      You HAVE to read these highlander books by Banks. Another romance lover says that these are her best books. Never Seduce a Scot is my favorite (so far) but they are all great.

  3. Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library

    This is definitely a series that I want to try. The premise would make me a little nervous because I’d worry how they’d get to the HEA without getting into ick territory but it sounds like it’s well done and I like the sound of the characters. Plus, this series just sounds too good to pass up!

    • Quinn's Book Nook

      Definitely do not pass these books up. You know, it never really got into ick territory. It was sad, though, because it was difficult to figure out how things would end happily.

  4. BJ's Reviews

    Great review Quinn! I need to start using my library more, to get to listen to some of those titles that I missed when they first came out but are a treasure to listen to later. I, for example, had never had the pleasure of reading one of Maya Banks’ historical romances.

  5. Kaja

    I’m glad you liked this one, too, though it suffered from second book syndrome in my opinion. I translated this book into Slovenian, it is one of the three historical romances I’ve translated so far. I actually wish I could have worked on parts 1 or 3, but the editor broke the trilogy up and gave it to 3 different translators to ensure they could publish it quickly… I thought that Alaric should have decided earlier what he was going to do, I mean, half the conflict was about him not making up his mind despite the fact that he’s crazy about Keeley. I hope you’ll like the third book, too! 🙂

      • Kaja

        Saving Grace by Julie Garwood and If You Dare by Kresley Cole so far. Right now, I’m doing some fantasy but I’d like to translate more romances, too, it’s a nice job to have.

  6. Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

    I’m so happy you enjoyed this! It made me a little nervous too because, while I knew there would be a happy ending, I wasn’t sure how it could happen without someone being hurt. I can’t wait to see what you think of book 3 which was my favorite of the trilogy.

    • Quinn's Book Nook

      I am excited to read the last book in this series. I’m going to try to read something first. I’ve read so many romances lately, and I feel like I need to switch things up slightly. But who knows, maybe I will just jump back in to the wonderful world of historical romance. Because seriously, it’s the best!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.