Audio Review: The Billionaire and the Virgin by Jessica Clare

Audio Review: The Billionaire and the Virgin by Jessica ClareThe Billionaire and the Virgin by Jessica Clare
Series: Billionaires and Bridesmaids, #1
Published by Penguin Publishing Group on February 17th 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Narrator: Jillian Macie
Source: Library
Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2017 Audiobook Challenge
two-half-stars

Enter the illustrious world of Jessica Clare's billionaires and bridesmaids. Fans of Maya Banks, Melody Anne and J. Kenner will be dazzled by the scorching-hot chemistry of this New York Times bestseller.

You met the six bachelors of the Billionaire Boys Club... Now it's time to pair up some filthy-rich billionaires with lucky ladies in waiting and enjoy the spoils...

Marjorie Ivarsson is the picture of naivete. A hardworking waitress raised by her grandmother, an evening playing bingo is her sort of socialising. But when she's invited to be a bridesmaid at her friend Bronte's wedding, she enters a whole new world.

Whisked away to the billionaire groom's private island, Marjorie is awe-struck by the glitz and glamour. But what dazzles her most is notorious playboy and hot-shot TV producer Robert Cannon.

After Marjorie saves Robert from drowning in the island's turquoise lagoon, she can't help but feel drawn to him. But she's not the only woman intrigued, and with his wild and womanising ways, they couldn't be more wrong for each other. With the blistering attraction between them becoming hard to ignore, and the idyllic, irresistibly romantic island as their playground - will opposites attract?

I gave this book a try a few years ago, but never finished it because I didn’t care for it. But, because I ended up really liking Stranded with a Billionaire by Jessica Clare, and because I was looking for a book where the heroine was taller than the hero (for The Ripped Bodice’s Bingo Contest) I decided to give it another go, this time in audio format. Unfortunately, The Billionaire and the Virgin by Jessica Clare didn’t work for me the second time around either.

The Billionaire and the Virgin is about Marjorie Ivarsson, waitress and friend of Bronte, who is in the Caribbean for Bronte’s wedding. There Marjorie meets Robert Cannon. Rob is there trying to get a business deal with Bronte’s fiance, Logan. Rob isn’t known for his gentlemen ways, but when he meets Marjorie, he can’t resist her.

I liked Marjorie. She’s very tall, but she’s rather self-conscious about it. She can be shy, and she always seems to make friends with senior citizens wherever she goes. She loves going to Bingo, and playing shuffleboard. Marjorie is a young woman, but she enjoys the hobbies that people usually think of being done by the eldery. Marjorie is okay with that. An issue I had with Marjorie’s characterization is that she’s all one thing, if that makes sense. I mean, she seems to be only interested in stereotypical hobbies old ladies like to do (which is fine but also very stereotypical of the older people). But since she is a person she should have a wide array of interests. People aren’t all one thing.

Robert was difficult for me to love. He’s a billionaire TV Network owner, but the channel is called The Man Channel. One of the most popular shows is one where people ask women to show their breasts for money. He’s not exactly proud of himself, but being successful is very important to him. While I understand that he’s worked really hard to come from nothing, the way he has done it isn’t exactly honorable.

There were certain aspects that I found kind of adorable about this book. When Robert and Marjorie go on their first few dates, they are so focused on trying to be what the other wants, that they sort of lose themselves. That was pretty adorable, especially on Robert’s part. But once they realize what has been going one, they start over, being themselves, and they do like each other. The only problem is that Marjorie doesn’t realize that Robert has been trying to meet with Logan, and that he runs The Man Channel.

I just had a difficult time connecting to the story. I should have loved Marjorie, but I didn’t. Sometimes I got very frustrated with her, although I did like her. And Rob was very sweet and patient with Marjorie, which I liked. But he was a jerk to everyone else, and I’m not sure why I should care about the hero if he is an asshole to everyone else. I also was very frustrated with how Rob handled telling Marjorie about his career. I mean, seriously, why did he wait until he knew it would be a big scene. I get that he was nervous, but didn’t he realize it would have been better if he told her privately?

So, The Billionaire and the Virgin was a bit of a disappointment for me. I do want to read more from Jessica Clare because I did love Stranded with a Billionaire. But this one just didn’t work for me.

two-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

12 Responses to “Audio Review: The Billionaire and the Virgin by Jessica Clare”

  1. Nick

    Yeah the characters sound very one dimensional. With contemporaries, I definitely want stronger characterizations. Sorry this didn’t work for you even the second time around, Quinn. :/

  2. Lover Of Romance

    I am sorry to hear that this one you didn’t like. I remember reading this one a while back and liking it. Not loving it, because I enjoyed it. But I believe I have really enjoyed everything this author has written. But I know this book readers either love or hate. I do hope you read more of her. Have you tried her shifter series yet? Beauty Dates The Beast, is one you might like.

    • Quinn's Book Nook

      I did really like Stranded with the Billionaire and I read another by her (I can’t remember the title right now) and liked it. This one just wasn’t for me.

  3. kimbacaffeinate

    I don’t care for one dimensional or stereotypical characters. Too bad the hero despite his unhappiness with how his money is made didn’t look for better venues. You have me curious about the book you loved

  4. herding cats & burning soup

    Aw I’m sorry to hear that. I liked this one but it wasn’t my all time favorite of her. I really did think their first few dates were pretty funny, too. And that he was okay with some of her hangups when she wasn’t. But, yeah, some hard bits about both of them for sure.

  5. Kate @ Midnight Book Girl

    I mean, I spend half my time with the elderly and I do enjoy a lot of elderly pursuits… but you’re right, people aren’t ever just one thing. And Rob’s job sounds kind of gross, so it’d be hard to fall for him (although in her defense, his retirement plan is probably stellar). 😉

    • Quinn's Book Nook

      Sure, I like some “elderly” pursuits too. But I also like Disney and going to trivia. I think if she was more than these two defining characteristics (liking elderly things, and being super tall) it wouldn’t have bothered me as much..

Leave a Reply